Good Omens

So I know I’m my last post I said I would be doing a two part post about H.H. Holmes, however after I finished the first book I went to the book store and I purchased a book and started reading it right away and here we are.

So besides reading I love watching streaming shows seldomly do I watch cable tv. A few months back someone suggested Good Omens and I have to admit I loved it! Imagine my excitement when I found out it was based on a book! So for those who don’t know Good Omens is written by the authors Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett. Neil Gaiman might be a name some of you recognize he wrote such books as Coraline, and The Sandman series both of which where adapted one into a movie and the other a series on Netflix (I highly recommend both).

Michael Sheen as Aziraphale and David Tennant as Crowley

The book is a comedy about the birth of the son of Satan and the coming of the End Times. There are attempts by the angel Aziraphale and the demon Crowley to sabotage the coming of the end times, having grown accustomed to their comfortable surroundings in England. At its core, Good Omens strikes a masterful balance between comedic moments and insightful commentary on human nature. It sends a message that people are not wholly one thing or another – that they’re often somewhere in the middle. It’s that diversity that makes humanity so strange and wonderful.

I absolutely adore this book. I grew up Catholic, even though I no longer attend church I appreciate the symbolism in the book and love the humor of the story it doesn’t make fun of religion like others have in the past (ie Book of Mormon) but it explains that the original sin, and the influence of evil on the actions of man in the most simplified way: the disobedience of the will of God. These are themes that come into play in Good Omens as well.

All in all I would recommend both show and book when it comes to Good Omens which fyi doesn’t happen often.

Leave a Comment